Skip to main content

Faculty

This well needs your attention.

Benjamin Brinner

Professor, Music Scholarship

brinner@berkeley.edu

Musical interaction and competence. expert musical memory, Javanese gamelan and related arts, Israel & Middle Eastern musical syntheses

Benjamin Brinner

Professor, Music Scholarship

brinner@berkeley.edu

Musical interaction and competence. expert musical memory, Javanese gamelan and related arts, Israel & Middle Eastern musical syntheses

Benjamin Brinner

Professor, Music Scholarship

brinner@berkeley.edu

Musical interaction and competence. expert musical memory, Javanese gamelan and related arts, Israel & Middle Eastern musical syntheses

Benjamin Brinner

Professor, Music Scholarship

brinner@berkeley.edu

Musical interaction and competence. expert musical memory, Javanese gamelan and related arts, Israel & Middle Eastern musical syntheses

Franck Bedrossian

Associate Professor, Composition

fbedrossian@berkeley.edu

Written instrumental music, mixed music, orchestra, complex sounds, saturation

Benjamin Brinner

Professor, Music Scholarship

brinner@berkeley.edu

Musical interaction and competence. expert musical memory, Javanese gamelan and related arts, Israel & Middle Eastern musical syntheses

Edmund Campion

Professor, Composition

campion@cnmat.berkeley.edu

Instrumental and orchestral composition, hybrid acoustic and electronic music, musical applications of computer technologies, installation art, collaborative art

Delia Casadei

Assistant Professor, Musicology

casadei@berkeley.edu

Voice, twentieth-century music, ideologies of language, sound studies, modernism

Carmine Emanuele Cella

Assistant Professor

carmine.cella@berkeley.edu

Instrumental and orchestral composition, smart instruments and hybdrid electroacoustic music, mathematical models for sound and signals, research on computer music technologies

Wei Cheng

Director of Choral Programs

weicheng1@berkeley.edu

Choral, repertoire, performance, conducting technique, new music

Cindy Cox

Professor, Composition, Department Chair

cacox@berkeley.edu

Contemporary music, piano, music technology, electronic music, opera, orchestra, chamber music

James Davies

Associate Professor, Music Scholarship

jqd@berkeley.edu

histories of the body in performance, global nineteenth-century music, political ecology: air and environment, the history of humanitarianism, voice studies

Nicholas Mathew

Associate Professor, Music Scholarship

nicholas.mathew@berkeley.edu

Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century music history, music and politics, the political economy of sound, music and materialism, pianos and pianism

Myra Melford

Professor Composition and Improvisational Practices

mmelford@berkeley.edu

Improvisation, piano, jazz, experimental, chamber music

Jocelyne Guilbault

Professor, Ethnomusicology

guilbault@berkeley.edu

Theory and methodology in popular music studies, aesthetics and politics, music industries, diasporic formations, French- and English-Speaking Caribbean

Matthew Hough

Director of Musicianship

hough@berkeley.edu

Composition, popular music, music pedagogy, theory, musicianship

David Milnes

Professor, Orchestra Directo

dmilnes@berkeley.edu

Orchestra and small music ensembles, classical and avant-garde repertoires, conducting technique

T. Carlis Roberts

Associate Professor, Performance Studies

tr@berkeley.edu

 Popular music, social identities, performance, spirituality

Mary Ann Smart

Professor, Music Scholarship

masmart@berkeley.edu

Performance studies, music & politics, opera, gender & sexuality in music, sociology of music

Maria Sonevytsky

Assistant Professor

msonevytsky@berkeley.edu

Discourses of exoticism (wildness), sovereignty, gender, indigeneity, voice, Soviet and post-Soviet popular music (especially Ukraine)

Ken Ueno

Professor, Composition

kueno@berkeley.edu

Asian music, music of Japan, extended vocal techniques, experimental improvisation

Emily Zazulia

Assistant Professor, Music Scholarship

zazulia@berkeley.edu

Medieval, renaissance, music notation, history of music theory

 

Franck Bedrossian

Associate Professor, Composition

fbedrossian@berkeley.edu

Written instrumental music, mixed music, orchestra, complex sounds, saturation

 

Franck Bedrossian

Associate Professor, Composition

fbedrossian@berkeley.edu

Written instrumental music, mixed music, orchestra, complex sounds, saturation

Benjamin Brinner

Professor, Music Scholarship

brinner@berkeley.edu

Musical interaction and competence. expert musical memory, Javanese gamelan and related arts, Israel & Middle Eastern musical syntheses