Taruskin Wins Esteemed Kyoto Prize

UC Berkeley Department of Music Professor Emeritus Richard Taruskin has been awarded the prestigious Kyoto Prize. A notable honor, the Kyoto Prize has long been regarded by many as the most significant award available in fields that are traditionally not honored with a Nobel Prize.

Bestowed annually since 1985 by the Inamori Foundation, the Prize is presented in three categories: Advanced Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy. Taruskin joins prominent scholars to win the award including Noam Chamsky, Jane Goodall, Witold Lutosławski, and fellow UC Berkeley faculty member Richard Karp. The Kyoto Prize also comes with a 50 million Yen prize that will be awarded at the official ceremonies in Kyoto, Japan in November.

“It’s obvious that he is the most important music historian of his generation in this country – perhaps in the world,” said Princeton University musicologist Simon Morrison of Taruskin.

A world-renowned musicologist, music historian, and critic Taruskin came to UC Berkeley Music in 1986. Previously he served numerous roles at Columbia University where he earned his B.A., M.A. and Ph.D. While at Columbia he worked as choral conductor and played viola da gamba with the well-known Aulos Ensemble.

While at UC Berkeley he published widely including his widely-lauded six volume “Oxford History of Western Music” which examines the whole of the European musical history. He retired from the UC Berkeley Department of Music in 2014.

Read more:
SF Gate
PR Newswire
Musical America (login required)