Skip to main content

Berkeley Nu Jazz Collective

The Berkeley Nu Jazz Collective, an advanced small ensemble of improvisers, explores a range of repertoire including music by innovative jazz composers of the 1960s – today, as well as original student compositions and arrangements through conventional and experimental practices.

Berkeley Nu Jazz Collective performing at Cal Day


The Berkeley Nu Jazz Collective is open to non-enrolled students and community members, as well as enrolled students, but everyone must audition or be admitted by consent of the instructor. Regular attendance at weekly rehearsals and participation in public performances is required.

Audition Information

Audition information for all performance opportunities in the Music Department.

Sound Clips

Berkeley Nu Jazz Collective – directed by Myra Melford

Performed by
Elizabeth Duran – flute
Forrest Riege – alto saxophone
Brendan Liu – trumpet and flugelhorn
Nathan Bickart – piano
Oscar Westesson – bass
Jacob Richards – drums

Upcoming Performances

Recent Performances