Skip to main content

Franck Bedrossian

Associate Professor, Composition
fbedrossian@berkeley.edu
Written instrumental music, mixed music, orchestra, complex sounds, saturation

Benjamin Brinner

Professor, Ethnomusicology
brinner@berkeley.edu
Musical interaction and competence. expert musical memory, Javanese gamelan and related arts, Israel & Middle Eastern musical syntheses

Edmund Campion

Professor, Composition
campion@cnmat.berkeley.edu
Instrumental and orchestral composition, hybrid acoustic and electronic music, musical applications of computer technologies, installation art, collaborative art

Delia Casadei

Assistant Professor, Musicology
casadei@berkeley.edu
Voice, twentieth-century music, ideologies of language, sound studies, modernism

Carmine Emanuele Cella

Assistant Professor
carmine.cella@berkeley.edu
Instrumental and orchestral composition, smart instruments and hybdrid electroacoustic music, mathematical models for sound and signals, research on computer music technologies

Wei Cheng

Director of Choral Programs
weicheng1@berkeley.edu
Choral, repertoire, performance, conducting technique, new music

Cindy Cox

Professor, Composition, Department Chair
cacox@berkeley.edu
Contemporary music, piano, music technology, electronic music, opera, orchestra, chamber music

James Q. Davies

Associate Professor, Musicology
jqd@berkeley.edu
nineteenth-century music, global music history, embodiment, political ecology, voice studies

Jocelyne Guilbault

Professor, Ethnomusicology
guilbault@berkeley.edu
Theory and methodology in popular music studies, aesthetics and politics, music industries, diasporic formations, French- and English-Speaking Caribbean

Matthew Hough

Director of Musicianship
hough@berkeley.edu
Composition, Popular Music Theory and Analysis, Theory and Ear Training Pedagogy

Lester Hu

Assistant Professor, Musicology
lesterzhu@berkeley.edu
Early Modern period (Renaissance/Baroque/late-imperial), global music history, songs and opera, music and empire-building, notation and grammatology, tuning

Nicholas Mathew

Associate Professor, Musicology
nicholas.mathew@berkeley.edu
Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century music history, music and politics, the political economy of sound, music and materialism, pianos and pianism

Myra Melford

Professor, Composition and Performance
mmelford@berkeley.edu
Improvisation, piano, jazz, experimental, chamber music

David Milnes

Professor, Conductor
dmilnes@berkeley.edu
Orchestra and small music ensembles, classical and avant-garde repertoires, conducting technique

T. Carlis Roberts

Associate Professor, Ethnomusicology
tr@berkeley.edu
Popular music, social identities, performance, spirituality

Mary Ann Smart

Professor, Musicology
masmart@berkeley.edu
Performance studies, music & politics, opera, gender & sexuality in music, sociology of music

Maria Sonevytsky

Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
msonevytsky@berkeley.edu
Discourses of exoticism (wildness), sovereignty, gender, indigeneity, voice, Soviet and post-Soviet popular music (especially Ukraine)

Ken Ueno

Professor, Composition
kueno@berkeley.edu
Instrumental and orchestral composition, extended vocal techniques, experimental improvisation, sound art/installation, "instrumentalizing" architecture, hacked instruments,

Emily Zazulia

Assistant Professor, Musicology
zazulia@berkeley.edu
Medieval, renaissance, music notation, history of music theory