Skip to main content

Music Honors Class of Thirty-five Graduates in 2019 Commencement

Congrats to the class of 2019!

Rachel Colwell, Graduate Student Speaker

Thirty-five students were recognized as graduates of the UC Berkeley Department of Music class of 2019 on Sunday, May 19 in Berkeley, CA. Commencement ceremonies took place in Hertz Hall on the UC Berkeley campus and recognized four Ph.D, five M.A., and twenty-six undergraduate degree recipients.  In the keynote speech, Professor and Chair Cindy Cox noted “I speak for the entire faculty when I say that we are genuinely proud of our students and their accomplishments. It is rewarding to watch students mature into performers, scholars, and composers over the course of their studies with us. We all gain from the music they make, the exchange of ideas, and the fresh perspectives they bring.”

26, 5, and 4: Number of Undergraduate, Masters of Art, and Doctoral degrees conferred.

37%: Percentage of Undergraduates who graduated with a second major other than Music. Majors paired with Music included Molecular and Cell Biology, Political Science, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), Applied Mathematics, Statistics, Neurobiology, and Business Administration.

18 students plan on continuing their education or careers in music all across the world. Professions and emphases include ethnomusicology, vocal performance, education, composition, and music therapy. Other grads will move on to careers in engineering, computer sciences, and medicine.

Destinations amongst graduates include Grinnell College in Iowa, YouTube in San Bruno, Castro Valley Unified School District, and our beloved UC Berkeley.

21: Undergraduate students who are California natives and stayed in-state to earn their degree.

24: Students who were recognized by department faculty, instructors, and peers for special awards and prizes.


Outstanding Graduate Student Instructors
Parkorn Wanpaiboonkit
Antonio Juan Marcos Cavazos
Rebecca Lomnicky

Nicholas C. Christofilos, Jr.Memorial Prize
Jon Turner
Rebecca Lomnicky

The Eisner Prize in Music
Maija Hynninen
Bethany Lee
Rebecca Lomnicky
Andrew Chao Han Chen
Zachary Thomas Elsasser

The David & Diana Menn Memorial Prize in the Performing Arts
Ann Deng
Grady Lai

Departmental Citation & Matthew William Fisher Memorial Award in Music
Mariah Ronningen

The Nicola DeLorenzo Prize in Music Composition
Selim Göncü
Maija Hynninen
Clara Olivares
James Stone
Jeremy Wexler

Austin F. Williams Prize in Piano Performance
Andrew Chao Han Chen

George Ladd Prix de Paris
Oren Boneh

Mary Nuñes Souza Prize
Amy Hong Liu

Bernece B. Lyon Memorial Prize
Kimberly Kang

Musical Theater Prize
Trevor Van De Velde

The Apgar Award
Alessandra Jones